Joanna Baker lives in Albury and Hobart. She is the author of four murder mysteries.

The Beechworth Novels

This is a trilogy for young adults, set in North Eastern Victoria.  The titles are: Devastation Road, The Elsinore Vanish and Evermore.

Devastation Road Cover 12 copy



Devastation Road won the Sisters in Crime Davitt Award for best young adult novel, and was reviewed in The Age, by Jane Sullivan as “an outstanding first novel.”

In June 2018, Devastation Road  will be re-published by Soren Press and will be available in paperback and ebook on all good bookselling sites. The Elsinore Vanish and Evermore will follow in 2019.




 The Slipping Place

The Slipping Place is a murder mystery for adults, set in Hobart. It is to be published by Impact Press in November 2018.

Sleeping Cold, set on Bruny Island, will be published in 2020.

 On these pages …

you’ll find some details of the novels, notes for reading groups, study guides and other material.

In the blog are thoughts about murder mysteries and why they can be taken seriously. Posts also explore the work of some of the great mystery writers, including Agatha Christie, P. D. James, James Lee Burke and Benjamin Black.

“Detective Fiction” and “Murder Mysteries”

There are many different ways of defining the terms ‘detective fiction’ and ‘murder mysteries’, and there are subtle distinctions that can be made. But for the purposes of general discussion, without getting bogged down in fine theoretical detail, the posts use the terms interchangeably.  This post provides definitions.